There Your Heart Will Be Also (Part 1)

Your heart always follows your money. Jesus said so. And it makes sense.

If you invest in things of this world, or save to be able to afford what this world has to offer, there is no doubt that you will become attached to this world, or begin to crave what you don’t have and find yourself a willing servant of the master Money. I know this because Jesus said as much. Don’t think that you can do what you want with your money and keep your heart unattached. If I understand Jesus correctly, that’s not possible.

Your heart always follows your money. So it’s wise to put your money where you want your heart be. 

One time I heard news that some friends of ours who live out of state were adopting. For some reason, I decided to give them some money. To be honest, it wasn’t a particularly heartfelt action, but it seemed right at the time, so I did it. Amazingly, as soon as I did, I became much more interested in knowing all the details about the kids they were adopting and their prayer needs during the process. Jesus was right. My heart followed my money.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:19-21

Matthew 6:19-34 has been an incredibly significant and faith-building passage for me over the last several weeks as I’ve been thinking a whole lot about how to deal with my money. In my mind it flows together something like this:

Jesus says: Lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven. (I take this to mean, “Put your money into a heavenly savings account rather than an earthly one by using your money freely for God’s purposes.”) Realize that your heart will be where you put your money. 

You’re tempted to say: But what about when I need this money tomorrow, next month or when I’m old to pay the bills?

Jesus says: Don’t worry about tomorrow. God is aware that you need to pay the bills. He never fails to feed the birds and cloth the lilies and He’ll take care of you too if you put your money toward His kingdom first of all. 

Wow! So it looks to me like I’m allowed the privilege of investing my money freely in the kingdom of heaven (a kingdom that is alive and growing, like a mustard seed that becomes the largest of trees!) without needing to worry about the things that I need from day to day or month to month! AND, by doing this I’m storing this money in a heavenly savings account where it is kept as safe as it could possibly be from thieves and rust! What an incredible promise of God’s provision! I’m praying that God will give me the faith to take full advantage of this great privilege. May he do the same for you too.

-Laura Anne

 

3 thoughts on “There Your Heart Will Be Also (Part 1)

  1. Really enjoyed this post, Laura! Recently thinking about this topic as well as I’ve been trying to watch where my money goes. And I’ve found this verse so true – the more I’ve spent money on something, the more I find myself enjoyed that certain thing, thinking about it, wanting to put more money towards it, etc. Really convicting passage; thanks for sharing this post on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

