The True God

What is it that sets the true God apart from other so-called gods or distortions of the real One? I think it’s an important question and worthwhile to meditate on. The Bible presents a God that is unlike any other imagined God: much bigger, more powerful and more beautiful. The Bible speaks of the kind of God that is truly able to satisfy a soul; a God that fully deserves trust and worship. Here are a few of my favorite aspects of the true God:

  1. He is the only God.

Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me. (Isaiah 43:10b)

See also Isaiah 44:6&8, Isaiah 45:5&21-22 and Isaiah 46:9.

2. He has always existed as God.

Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God. (Psalm 90:2)

The Bible also speaks of God as the eternal God (see Deut. 33:27), the everlasting God (see Isaiah 40:28), the first and the last (Isaiah: 48:12-13) and the alpha and the omega (Revelation 1:8).

3. He created the heavens and the earth.

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. (Genesis 1:1)

See also Isaiah 45:12.

4. He gives all men life and breath and everything else.

The God who made the world and everything in it, being the Lord of heaven and earth, does not live in temples made by man, nor is he served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all mankind life and breath and everything.

5. He always does what he says he will do.

I am God, and there is no other; I am God and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient time things not yet done, saying, “my counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose,  . . . I have spoken, and I will bring it to pass; I have purposed, and I will do it. (Isaiah 46:9-11)

God is not man, that he should lie, or a son of man that he should change his mind. Has he said, and will he not do it? Or has he spoken, and will he not fulfill it? (Numbers 23:19)

There are obviously so many more aspects of God to admire, but aren’t these wonderful? Pair these truths with truths about God’s goodness and faithfulness and wisdom, and I can hardly imagine not desiring to trust and serve and praise such a big and powerful God! Aren’t you glad that the true God is so much grander than any figment of one’s imagination?

Leave a Reply

