Free Scripture Song links

About 2 years ago, my brother Benjamin started hunting down verbatim Bible songs from everywhere. He found an incredible amount of them actually, and it’s been so fun! We’ve reached a point now where we hardly listen to anything else anymore. I love it! It’s amazing how music can help me think about a text differently than I ever have before. It’s a powerful new meditation tool.

I wanted to share my favorite Scripture artists and songs with you, so that you can also reap some of the benefits of Benjamin’s hard work. This post will just be the free ones.

This first one is the entire book of James! It’s incredibly well done musically and instrumentally. http://noisetrade.com/indeliblepublishing/james

Next is Esther Mui. She is Malaysian, so she has an accent that you have to get used to. Mainly she just uses piano and her voice, but sometimes she brings in other instruments as well. I didn’t particularly like her stuff the first time I heard it, but it soon became my favorite and has remained my favorite since then. What I like best about her style is that she does longer and often less familiar passages. It’s amazing how much scripture I’ve memorized and found useful to know from her collection.
http://www.scripturesongsforworship.com

Then there’s The Verses Project. There are a lot of these that don’t particularly suit my taste, but I weeded through them one time and made a “best of” CD that has been really valuable and a favorite. If you know me personally, you can ask me sometime for a CD of those songs I collected together. Who knows though, you might like more of them then I did, so do some exploring yourself.
http://www.theversesproject.com/explore .
Here are two of my personal favorites to get you started: http://theversesproject.com/verses/32/Psalms-91.1-2
http://theversesproject.com/verses/15/Luke-12.32-34

And lastly, here’s Benjamin’s own youtube channel, where he has put some of the ones he has written: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuDRsUZ3p7y0KiCCqkxHWsA

I have more albums to share with you that are not free, but well worth the little bit they will cost you, so stay tuned for those links.

– Laura Anne

2 thoughts on “Free Scripture Song links

  1. Well, thanks to you guys, I now love this stuff. I plan to recommend The Verses Project next on my blog. I came across it a couple of months ago. I haven’t listened to much of it yet, but I love the creativity behind their work. It seems like my meager attempts to get people listening to this stuff are pretty unsuccessful, but I’m going to keep trying! Hope you do, too!

  2. I know. It’s hard to get people to give Scripture songs a chance, for some reason. I don’t understand. Anyway, we’ve found the best way to introduce them to people is to hand out CDs. We’ve gotten a few people hooked that way at least. Some people just don’t know what they’re missing!

Leave a Reply

