Wisdom

Someone mentioned a verse in passing at church on Sunday, and I’ve been thinking on it ever since. It’s simple. It comes from the Psalms. You’ve probably heard it before. It says: “So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12)

In what ways would I be wiser for numbering my days?

-I would realize the stupidity of sin in a stronger way.

-I would be more prepared to give everything up for Christ.

-I would have more humility. If I’m only alive today and gone tomorrow, who am I? I’m nothing. A mere breath!

-If I realized the shortness of this life, it wouldn’t matter to me if I got what I thought I wanted or not. What if I were never to get married or never to travel overseas again? If I truly realized the shortness of this life I wouldn’t care. I would only want what God wants.

-I could rejoice in suffering, knowing that it’s not worthy to be compared with the glory to follow.

-If I knew I might die tomorrow I would opt to do a deed of kindness rather than sit on the couch and day-dream.

And I’m sure there are plenty more.

James says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. For that man must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.”

Leave a Reply

