I’m Homesick!

Recently I’ve been feeling excited about the future: the new heavens and new earth in which righteousness dwells! I’m ready for it now! Sometimes I get a little weary of being in a world where it is impossible not to drink in some poluted air. Worldliness is everywhere around us, and even though I’m blessed to know comparatively little of it, it still is there and always scheming how it can pull me gently and quietly away from God. I can’t wait to live in a world free of this polution! And we will some day! 

Related to this idea, I’ve been thinking about how much the Bible talks about giving up things in order to receive something greater. It’s clear that the christian life is a hard road: “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it; but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it”  But it’s all about gaining in the end: “The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid again; and from joy over it goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.” It is vital to keep our minds on the treasure. Paul says to “fix your hope completely on the grace to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.”  

It’s just downright stupid to forget the prize, yet I do so often.

I really like the words to this song:

My rest is in heaven, my rest is not here,
Then why do I worry when trials are near!
Be hushed my dark spirit, the worst that can come
But shortens your journey, and hastens you home.

Chorus:
I have died to this world, and am hidden with Christ
So my mind will be set on this:
Glory is certain, for Christ is in me,
Glory is certain, for Christ is in me.

I dare not be seeking my comfort and bliss,
Or building my hopes in a place such as this;
I look for the city God promised and built,
Where Jesus has banished my sin and its guilt.

Afflictions may press me but cannot destroy,
One glimpse of His love turns them all into joy;
The tears of a lifetime will vanish away
When He stoops to dry them on that coming day.

So let Satan’s army assail me full force;
Their plans cannot help but to steady my course.
Come joys or come sorrows, whate’er may befall
An hour with my Savior will sweeten them all.

—Laura

2 thoughts on “I’m Homesick!

  1. Agreed. I was reading 1 John recently, where it says something like: “Do not love the world or the things of the world.” “For the world is passing away with its desires.” I realized that one way I manifest a love for the world is in my dislike of work. My dislike of work shows my over-love for being a student. Really, through, I should not be tied to either position. Instead, through everything I do I need to focus on the will of God (which, according to John, is to love God and love your brother) because “the one who does the will of the father remains into eternity.”

    Nice job, using a picture of a fence and a guitar–my guitar.

Leave a Reply

