“Who has made man’s mouth?”

God taught me something last night from the story of Moses that I think is worth sharing.

I’ve had a hard time with the command in Hebrews 3 that says to “encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “today”, so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.” I just haven’t felt like I can do it. I’m just little me, who often finds it hard to talk to people already, and I’m supposed to take it a step further and encourage these people? I don’t have any idea what to say that would be encouraging! This kind of thing is definately not my strong point.

But last night when I was thinking about this, I remembered Moses. He didn’t think he was cut out for what God told him to do either:

“Please, Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither recently nor in time past, nor since You have spoken to your servant; for I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” The Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes him mute or deaf, or seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now then go, and I, even I, will be with your mouth, and teach you what you are to say.” (Exodus 4:10-12)

The command in Hebrews is directed at me the believer, and it would be stupid of me to think that I can’t obey it when the One who commanded it is the One who made me, and redeemed me, and gave me His Spirit.  I can’t argue with God’s reply to Moses: “Who has made man’s mouth?”

When God commands something, He doesn’t leave us to carry it out alone. He means for us to trust Him and do what He says.

Laura

Leave a Reply

