Meditation

What I am about to write is based on something Mr. Holloway shared on Sunday. 

What did you think about last night in bed? It’s natural to go over and over some conversation you had with someone, or think about every nuance of a certain event (for me, maybe something dumb that I did that day). This is a very good example of what meditation is.

The Bible says: “Finally brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence, and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”  

Wouldn’t it be awesome if our default setting was to meditate on God and his word, whenever we were just “thinking”?

Here are a few ways to cultivate more of this kind of meditation:

Memorize Scripture. Small passages are good, big passages are better. If you won’t do big, at least do small. One of these days I’m going to write a post that will guilt you into it. Make it a habit to quote Scripture to yourself often. Try paraphrasing and expanding on the Scripture as a helpful way to think about what it means. 

Listen to Scripture or sermons. Even if you listen while you’re not really paying attention–my mom does it while she works on things around the house–you’ll find that you still get something out of it. My dad likes to listen to Scripture at night when he can’t sleep, and he says that listening to scripture is just as good as reading it.   

Keep Scripture in front of you. Put verses on your mirror. I recently made a scroll type thing with about 18 verses on it that I put on my wall in my room next to where I often sit. That has been enormously helpful to keep me meditating. When I first put it up, almost every time I sat there I involuntarily starting thinking about a verse. It was really cool! Honestly though, my scroll has become part of the wall. I rarely even really notice it anymore. I think I need to try moving it somewhere else, maybe then it would stand out again.

I really wish I could say that I had this meditation thing down, but I don’t. I’m so distracted with trivial nonsense that doesn’t last more than a day. One of these days though, all those who love God will see Him. And what distraction will be able to keep us from thinking about Him then? I’m getting homesick!

One thought on “Meditation

  1. Hey, that was really helpful. I don’t know about you, but I often get little songs stuck in my head. Most often nursery rhymes that Ellie’s been listening to. It’s terrible to go around the house constantly singing about Wee Willie Winkie! This was a good reminder to really work toward spending much more time meditating on Scripture (than on nursery rhymes).

    Amy

Leave a Reply

