My Life

I started writing this as a comment on Emily and Sarah’s blog, but It was getting kind of long so I decided to turn it into a post instead:

I was talking to “Invisi-Jo” yesterday and she asked me what I wanted to do for college. I told her that I’m thinking about majoring in violin somewhere for the purpose of teaching it, though I haven’t made up my mind yet if that’s really what I want to do. I went on to tell her that  I feel like I have wasted not only this past year and the year before, but when it comes down to it, I can’t think of a whole lot that I have done that eternally matters in my whole life. I mean, I’ve had a really enjoyable life so far and have learned a lot of things, but I still haven’t done much for the cause of Christ.

If I were to end up being a stay at home, homeschooling mom and teaching violin out of my home in the future, as I have always sort of envisioned, that could be wonderful. But then I wonder if I would not end up feeling  as I do now? I think I might feel that day after day goes by, sure, I would be raising kids and teaching violin, two very good things, but what would I be doing for Christ? What would I be doing that eternally matters?

So sometimes I wonder if I should just drop the whole violin idea and do Biblical and Theological Studies at Boyce. That way, if it’s God’s will for me to be a stay at home mom, so be it. And I would know how to read the Bible in it’s original language and much more. If it’s His will for me to do missions, then I will be ready. Pretty much whatever His will is, I would be well equipped with the BTS major. Even if I were to teach violin, I may not get as much money for it, but I could still do it. 

I don’t want to completely drop Bible in order to do violin, but I might completely drop violin in order to do Bible.

And so I continue to totter between doing violin somewhere, and doing BTS at Boyce.

2 thoughts on “My Life

  1. It’s great you are wrestling with this! Here is what I would say. Many times, a theological degree is overrated, especially if you come from a strong local church that emphasizes the study of Scripture. It’s not always bad but think of this, the Bible says far more about the cause of Christ in being an excellent wife and mother than it does about theological degrees. Also, teaching the violin out of your house or anywhere else is a great mission field! Finally, raising your kids to know Christ is your greatest mission field you will ever have. Whatever the Lord leads you to do, I am sure you will do great because you will do it for Him.

  2. Laura, I struggle soo much with whether I want to get a degree or if I just want to be a homemaker. Mr. Holloway is right, that what ever you do it will be good since you are doing it for God! But personally, I think you would make an AMAZING violin teacher! You rock on that thing! But keep praying about it:) God will show you what he would have you do and whatever you end up doing it will be for the good of the church (do I sound too much like Bryan?)

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

